skip to Main Content

Rune Readings


Today we are going to discuss Rune Readings.

A common definition of Rune Readings goes as follows: “Runic Magic and Divination. Runestones, (sometimes cards), are used as tools of divination – a way to predict one’s future. … Pick a rune stone randomly for a day reading; you can also do what is known as a 3 rune spread. Some feel that the day rune is a good way to get an answer to a single question.”

rune reading tools

Each Runestone has a different meaning. During a reading, a psychic or Rune practitioner will pick separate stones. These stones are supposed to give the psychic or advisor insight into the person’s future.

Runestones generally come in a set of 24 ancient alphabetic symbols. They will come in a box or a pouch and can be made of wood or glass. Glass is the most common form because it makes them more attractive to the eye. Most stone sets will also come with an instruction booklet so you will know the meanings of each symbol on the stones.

rune stones

During a reading- The runes should be cast from east-to-west. A white cloth should be laid down and used to determine which direction the casting will be. After casting the stones onto the cloth the ones which have fallen the right side up are read by psychic. The direction of the rune will have a bearing on its meaning and the reading as a whole.

General Runestone meanings:

BLANK RUNE: Sometimes called “Odin’s Rune”. Anything can happen, the possibilities are endless.

OTHALA – O: Ancestral property – Inheritance. This stone represents freedom and your own independence.

DAGAZ – D: Daylight or Dawn. This stone represents the light surrounding you, insightful, and new ideas are coming your way.

INGWAZ – NG: Fertility, a new life is in store for you.

LAGUZ – L: Water – Emotions- This stone has to do with all your emotions coming together.

MANNAZ – M: The nature of Humanity- this stone represents your reflection on the world.

EHWAZ – E: The Sacred Horse- This stone represents your stability, do whatever it takes to get there!

BERKANA – B: Birch-goddess- Whatever way life takes you proceed cautiously

TEIWAZ – T: Tyr, the sky god. you will be successful, and competitive in yourself.

SOWILO – S: The Sun, This stone represents your knowledge and awareness of yourself. You are whole.

ALGIZ: Z= protection, your spirit is connecting to you

PERTHRO – P: Initiation, Things Unexplained, Something Hidden

EIHWAZ – EI: Yew Tree, you’re stable, patient, and you know how to accomplish anything you do.

JERA – J or Y: The Cycle of One Year

ISA – I: Ice=Calmness, let go of everything and find yourself

NAUTHIZ – N: The Negatives of Human Needs= you need to come to terms with the part of you that you are not fond of, appreciate the things that you have

HAGALAZ – H: Destructive forces=Things are out of control, find the solution

WUNJO – W or V: Bliss and Glory=You need only yourself no one else, you are joyful and in perfect harmony

GEBO – G: Gift of Harmonic Relationships= You’re in touch with your higher self

KENAZ – K: Beacon or torch.=This stone will help you figure out who you are

RAIDHO – R: Journey= You are going to be going on a journey soon

ANSUZ – A: references the ancestral god, Odin.= You are receiving a message from within yourself, listen

THURISAZ – TH: The seeing of the future=You will be seeing your future

URUZ – U: Brute Strength= Strength of all kinds.

FEHU – F: Cattle= this stone represents your self-value

runes and pouch

Final Tips:

Runestones are best used to attain insight into yourself. Ask specific questions and interpret the runes with friends or a psychic advisor.