Astrology: Elements, Qualities and Polarities

The twelve zodiacal signs are grouped three different ways. The Elements, the Qualities and the Polarities. These three classifications help us understand the basic traits of the zodiacal signs.


We all know that the elements are Fire, Earth, Air and Water but there is more to it than that. The four Elements describe our dispositions or moods. For example, Fire signs Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius respond very quickly to energy. They take action and are ready for anything. They are confident and ready to lead.

The Earth element includes Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn. These signs respond with caution. They are practical and steady. Earth signs are dependable and solid through and through. They also have a very strong work ethic.

The Air element of Gemini, Libra and Aquarius respond to energy mentally. They are the great thinkers. They are also friendly and love learning anything new. They are ideas people and love sharing information.

The Water element of Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces responds to energy almost unconsciously. They are extremely emotional yet very calm and peaceful. These people are sensitive and have wonderful imaginations. They show compassion and empathy toward all things and people.



The Qualities show us HOW we respond to energy especially under tension or pressure. The Qualities show how the signs express their element, or put another way, the manner in which they express the element’s needs. There are three Qualities- Cardinal, Fixed and Mutable.

The Cardinal signs are: Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn. These signs are assertive and love change. Crisis motivates them and they are always one step ahead of everyone else. The Cardinal signs are the first month of the four seasons.

The Fixed signs are: Taurus, Scorpio, Leo and Aquarius. They are the most stable, determined and sometimes down right stubborn. They are loyal and often finish what the Cardinal signs have started. They do not like change because they need time to prepare for it. The four Fixed signs are at the middle month of each season.

The Mutable signs are: Sagittarius, Virgo, Gemini and Pisces. These signs are the most unstable. They are also flexible and tolerant. They find it very easy to make the change from old to new. The Mutable signs have a lot going on in their heads and have a tendency to worry. Their adaptability gets them through the hard times. The four Mutable signs are at the last month of each season.


The Polarities go by a few names: Positive/Negative, Male/Female, yang/yin. No matter what you call them it refers to duality. It is interesting that signs of the same polarity understand each other. Whereas, signs of opposite poles have a harder time getting along.

For example:


Yang                                      Yin

Direct                                   Indirect

Outgoing                             Introverted

Male                                     Female

Positive                               Negative



This is a lot to take in but I hope you enjoyed getting into it as much as I enjoyed bringing it to you.


That’s it for Now

Keep the Peace

Next Blog: The Moon



Exit mobile version