skip to Main Content
Astrology Houses

Astrology: House Rules

astrology houses

The more you learn about astrology, the more you can learn about yourself. There is much more to understanding astrology than just your individual sign. For example, the 12 houses of the zodiac contain many complexities. Each house characterizes our traits and actions according to the planet they are ruled by. Understanding the actions and reactions you may be inclined to make is imperative to a better self-awareness. This can also help you recognize your shortcomings so that you can work towards a better more rounded self. Read on to find out what planet rules each house and how that impacts you.

The First House

Astrology The First House

The first house is ruled by Aries and Mars, shows how you appear to others and the issues that become important to you over time.

The Second House

Astrology The Second House

The house ruled by Taurus and Venus describes your relationship to material possessions.

The Third House

Astrology The Third House

Gemini and Mercury rule the third house, which characterizes your modes of communication and the ways you react to your environment.

The Fourth House

Astrology The Fourth House

In the fourth house, cancer and the moon rule over your family and domestic relationships.

The Fifth House

astrology The Fifth House

Creative expression is ruled by Leo and the Sun in the fifth house.

The Six House

Astrology The Six House

The balance between work and health appear in the sixth house, ruled by Virgo and Mercury.

The Seventh House

The Seventh House

In the seventh house, your partnerships and relationships are generally ruled by Libra and Venus.

The Eighth House

The Eighth House

Your approach to business affairs appears in the eighth house, which is controlled by Scorpio and Pluto.

The Ninth House

The Ninth House

Philosophy, religion, and education mingle in Sagittarius and Jupiter’s ninth house.

The Tenth House

The Tenth House

Public image and reputation rest in the tenth house of Capricorn and Saturn.

The Eleventh House

The Eleventh House

Aquarius and Uranus preside over the eleventh house, which is associated with friendship and ambition.

The Twelfth House

The Twelfth House

The final house is ruled by Pisces and Neptune and describes your subconscious mind and emotional responsibilities.